Project GT1600 (aka The Reaper)

Introduction

As this is going to be quite a big ongoing project, I thought I may as well get a project thread up for those interested. The car was taken off the road about 10 months ago as I have two cars so only used it as a weekend car anyway. I have plenty of experience from a young age from working on several mates cars and projects and that of my old man. This, however, is my first big project completely on my own.

How the car stands

The car was nearly standard when I got it. It now stands completely stripped weighing 910 kgs and running about 180bhp at 18psi. A GT of the same spec as mine with full interior can run a 14.5 flat quarter mile on crap tyres. So est. low 14's for mine. Bodywork needs attention but is standard.

Plans and goals

Now then, I'm sure I have stated the plans elsewhere on here but I will end up with a stripped, caged, GT with a full (ie blueprintes, forged etc) 1600 build using the 1600 Sporting block running on DTA management. I hope to end up with a dry weight of 900kgs and 250bhp initially just to get it up and running, then push for 300bhp. The suspension and shell will be getting a full overhaul, new bushes, bolts, underseal, few bits of welding etc. I will prep the car and spray it Satin black inside and out.

ANY COMMENTS, QUESTIONS OR CRITISISM (CONSTRUCTIVE PLEASE) WELCOME THROUGHOUT

Last edited:
After a busy weekend faffing about and collecting a few parts I thought it was about time I made a start on the shell whilst I'm having two days off on the sick. After managing to somehow lose a pair of axle stands (got a feeling they're at my Dads) and getting up very late, I had to go to two Halfords to get a new pair.

Starting late I began stripping down the rear of the car. Wheels off, Front bumper off, old ARB off, rear suspension off. At the end of yesterday this is how the car stands. Underneath is looking crusty, definately in need of re-undersealing.

RearStrip1.jpg

RearStrip2.jpg