Feeding it through or crossing over.

Miniman

Torque Junkie
Car
Toyota starlet
Ok so when your taught to drive its hands at ten to and ten past, and your taught to feed the steering wheel through but who actually still does this?

Did you keep to your strict lesson ways or did you soon develop your own style or bad habits?.

yes got a few bad habits.Havent driven with my hands at them points since i passed.Its either 20-25 past or 12 with my right hand.As for feeding through the hands it would be or feel to slow for going round corners now.

I'm a quarter to three driver. And I do feed the wheel unless parking or other very low speed operation.

Feeding the wheel is quite effective if you take your first 'bite' at the bend by bringing your hand up and well past midday to start the turn in.

As can what the police call rotational steering. This is where you position both hands before the bend so that you keep both in place on the wheel throughout the turn.

The current test is, frankly, ridiculously prescriptive in some ways and far too liberal in others.

Who really cares if the test candidate hooks their hand inside the wheel to start a reversing move? No-one is EVER going to need to swerve or control a blowout whilst moving at 0.3mph.

if im coming up to a tight bend il position my hands 10 to and 20-25 past before hand that feels more effective for the turn than just holding with 1 hand,then revert back to 20-25 past or sometimes just quater past but thats 1 of my bad habits then.

Last edited:
if im coming up to a tight bend il position my hands 10 to and 20-25 past before hand that feels more effective for the turn than just holding with 1 hand,then revert back to 20-25 past or sometimes just quater past but thats 1 of my bad habits then.