Rate yourself as a driver

obi_waynne

Administrator
Staff member
Car
A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
How do you rate your driving skills and ability?

General observation, reaction times, car control etc...

Be honest though, we can't all be F1 drivers. How do you think you stack up against the general population.

Out of 10? I'd say 8.5/10

There are a few minor things I need to really sort out, but other then that I am a safe driver that still maintains all the nessercary requirements to remain a safe driver, I am not lazy at all and I'll always strive to be a better driver. As you say, the more miles you gather, the more your experience improves!

Now, you just knew I wouldn't be able to resist commenting on this one, didn't you? :)

Just because there is a saying doesn't make it true. A watched pot never boils?

Experience doesn't necessarily improve your skill level. If that was the case, why do you all want older drivers to stop driving, they have far more experience than you? :)

Or maybe older drivers' experience has taught them that driving slower is a lot safer?

It doesn't take very long for a confident driver to gain a basic control of their vehicle. However, all further experience does do is hardwire your bad habits (it does this so well you don't even notice), it doesn't teach you good ones. For that you need lessons and who thinks they need those once they have passed the basic, and very easy to pass first time, UK driving test.

Maybe the previous paragraph is rather simplistic. If you are interested in driving, experience will teach you a few survival skills: Leaving a bigger gap between you and the car in front, looking at the body language of drivers waiting to pull out, being aware of blind spots, etc.

However, if you are relying on the number of hours behind the wheel to teach you how to be a better and safer driver then you are deluding yourself.