When buying car parts, how do you decide ...

obi_waynne

Administrator
Staff member
Car
A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
Do you buy the best/most expensive? Do you research the parts and look for reviews or go with whatever is in the nicest box. Will you ever consider buying cheap parts/low quality parts and how important to you is the reputation of the maker supplier?

Which bits are you willing to compromise on?

I go with big brand names all the time, every time. I cant see the point of buying cheap parts to save a few £'s and end up with a naff part that doesn't last 5 mins.

That my philosiphy anyway. :wink:

As im a bit of a newbie when it comes to replacement parts etc I look for the cheapest and look for reviews, and keep moving up in price until I find a really good ratio of good to bad reviews, and but that one. If its things like brake pads I will always go for expensive parts as its not something I want to compromise on but if its bulbs / replacement plastics (i.e mirrors etc) will just go for the cheapest.

what a lot of people dont know is most parts in the main dealer are made from the same batch of parts in the factory as of spurious parts
something to think about

. If its things like brake pads I will always go for expensive parts as its not something I want to compromise on but if its bulbs / replacement plastics (i.e mirrors etc) will just go for the cheapest.

with brakes there is a good compromise some pads have to high a working temp rating to be of any real use on the roads in a light car. going for a cheaper pad that has a lower working temp can mean better braking on the road. its worth doing alot of reading into pads

an example