jag remap

kersh99

Car
jaguar x type 2.2d
hi guys
a bit of a newbie here. i was just wondering if theres anyone that can inform me if its worth having a remap done i have a jag 2.2d.
the car is an 06 plate with low miles, also what sort of a spec increase
could i expect..cheers peeps

The engine is the same as Fords 2.2 TDCi unit, which, in turn, is derived from PSA's (Peugeot-Citroen's) DW12TED4 engine.

A remap will set it off very nicely indeed. I had a 406 Hdi with the DW12 etc etc. 2.2 engine and that remapped beautifully with stacks of torque and power. Economy also improved slightly. Yours will be even better.

I think you'll get close to 200bhp (standard is, I believe, slightly over 150) and well over 300lbft torque. You won't need a stopwatch to notice the difference.

You'll probably find as well that the engine becomes even smoother in operation (and they're extremely good in factory tune, being hard to discern as 4 cylinder diesels anyway). A good tuner will smooth out all the wrinkles in the power/torque delivery long before making any attempt to increase the overall power delivery.

I recommend Celtic Tuning - check their site at http://www.celtictuning.co.uk

Please do avoid the awful plug in boxes that are available on the web. Even the most expensive (far pricier than a remap) are nothing short of a compromise. Your car has a Euro IV emissions control system and a tuning box will cause it to work incorrectly.

Last edited by a moderator:
cheers for the info lads,the only thing thats bothering me is. does it stress out the engine any?? or reduce the life of the engine??

cheers for the info lads,the only thing thats bothering me is. does it stress out the engine any?? or reduce the life of the engine??

Not in my opinion as long as you let yourself be guided by the tuners. They will have a good idea how much is too much and will work well within those parameters. Engine stress, wear and life is far more dictated by driving style than level of tune.