Someone help - throttle bodies, supercharger...

BJ2020

Car
Shopping
Hello everyone,

I don't wanna make a clown of myself and if you laugh then don't laugh too hard at me cos Im just a lil girl but I need to ask this Q:

A guy at work, Steve, who calls himself a mechanic (he worked at a garage for about two years before moving into sales) has some friend with a Ford Probe. Fair play, sounds like this guys really enthusiastic for Probes cos Steve talks about it quite a lot and updates me on what he's had done. I THINK its a v6 but not 100% on that. Anyway he was on about individual throttle bodies (which I have limited knowledge on) and superchargers. Steve said that Mac or Max whatever he's called was planning on getting throttle bodies and then a supercharger later on down the line.

Is that possible? Because from what my cousin taught me, I thought the idea of throttle bodies was to feed air into each cylinder seperately. A supercharger would force more air into the engine anyway wouldn't it? Or could the supercharger force air into each cylinder and supply even more air? So far as I can work out, even if it did make some improvement it wouldn't be a great deal - not worth the ££s of a supercharger (think he said nearly £3k). Either way it sounds very costly to get both!!

Someone please shed some light, you can be quite technical, for all I'm a bimbo :D

Hello :D

Supercharging would generally still utilise the inlet manifold/plenum assembly and would be mounted on top of this. With some mods done this would then need to be remapped via a custom ecu to get the best from the system.

Throttle bodies are more motorsport orientated and are a stand alone affair and will not work with a supercharger as you have rightly pointed out as these feed each cylinder.