soon to be audi a3 owner.mod tips!

emery1990

Tuner
Car
A3 1.8T quattro
hello..soon to be getting a 1.8t a3. if you have one what was the first performance mod you done to it. im thinking of having head work before i get it remmapped.

Jesus, how much is your insurance? As for head work, that's jumping in at the deep end somewhat. There's plenty that can be done beforehand.

Jesus, how much is your insurance? As for head work, that's jumping in at the deep end somewhat. There's plenty that can be done beforehand.

oh right ok..im new to the modding cars world and that..just bee reading few somne of the articles on this site and that sounded like a good thing to do. and well i pretty pissed off with the insurance..when i was looking last year for insurance on one it was £1200..now its gone up to £1800 but got £600 left from my insurance atm..so aint that bad really for an 18 year old. what would people suggest then on mods

I'd suggest a brain transplant to be honest if you're prepared to pay £1800 for insurance.

OK, sorry, I'll retract that and apologise for being facetious.

The best single mod you can do is an ECU remap. All will stand 225bhp with ease.

The 1.8T A3s are OK dynamically and will take the extra torque with ease. My only concern is that the earlier ones (pre 2002) had weedy brakes in my opinion so do consider this if you are ramping up the performance significantly.

I'd suggest a brain transplant to be honest if you're prepared to pay £1800 for insurance.

I disagree. Seems like a very good price considering the car and his age tbh. Most drivers with their own policy will pay near that on MOST cars (even 1.2s etc) in their first year of driving. It's not the 1870's any more HDi, insurance is a rip-off these days.

I'd suggest leaving it standard until your insurance is cheaper. If you modify it in any way then you will have to declare it to the insurers and the premium will rocket.