oioi !

Workid

Car
Seat Ibiza 1.4
Finally i have found a forum which is UK based!

My name is Rory, i work in Lossiemouth in Scotland but my hometown is Newcastle upon Tyne.

I'm getting sick of spending my wages on getting drunk every weekend and have nothing to show for it. I have been toying with the idea of buying a cheap car and whacking a nice big silly engine into it. I want to make the ultimate sleeper (within budget)

Since I saw the Nova c20let for the first time i have had a yearning to do something like that myself. I know it is a fairly common conversion and has everything i would want but I also want to consider all of my options.

If you read my profile you may see I am a mechanic in the RAF. You may also see the word 'mechanic' is in apostrophes, if you were to imagine a mechanic in your head now, that is not me. I am a psuedomechanic. This is part of the reason I want to do this, for the experience. I have a good understanding of the theory and principles of mechanics after 18 months training but due to the nature of my job i have no experience at all with any vehicles other than those i got tested on in training. I do have experience stripping engines though, but since I have left my phase 2 training camp i have been on the ground support equipment (GSE) side of my section which doesnt see me doing much in the way of vehicle mechanics. Unfortunately.

I do however have access to an extensive tool set (including a range of STT tools), car ramps and lifts, garage space and colleuges who can weld or manufacture stuff.

So, what are the most common engine swaps to do? What sort of budget should i set myself? What else should I consider before I embark on this mission?

If it helps i have roughly £4-5k to start it off with and an expendable income of ~£500 to pour into it each month if need be

Any and all responses appreciated

Cheers!

tcsmileysign.gif