Why does the wheel lock up and smoke when the handbrake cable is attached ?

FastLife91

Torque Junkie
Car
Ford Focus mk2
Car - Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI 120bhp

I am no mechanic but I watch Youtube DIY video's and can follow and perform fairly easy jobs like this on my car.

I replaced the rear calipers , discs and pads and took it the MOT and all was fine including it's handbrake. A few weeks later I wanted the handbrake firmer so I was messing about with the assembly and I disconnected the HB cable and after I put it back together again and was driving down the road I smelt and saw smoke coming from rear wheel and as I tried to spin the wheel it would not move, I disconnected the handbrake cable and the wheel spun freely and also when I drive it no longer smokes.

So the wheel locks up, goes red hot and smokes when the handbrake cable is applied but spins freely without problem when it is not attached. does anyone have any idea of what the problem may be ? I have left it disconnected on that one side for now until this is resolved

The handbrake itself is a part of the caliper assembly, the handbrake cable is attached to the caliper . Some people say on these cars as they are self adjusted then it means it can't be manually adjusted and the handbrake cables need to be changed, but other people say they can be adjusted >>

These car's do not have a simple nut near handbrake that simply adjusts, this car does not have that. apparently if it can be adjusted thew whole console needs removed.

please help, thanks

Last edited:
The rear drum brakes on these are prone to sticking, do you have drums on the rear or discs?

Are the rotors and pads warped or worn, is the disc flat or slightly warped?

A layer of copper grease on the pistons and other parts can help if the problem is siezing up, DO NOT GET ANY ON THE FRICTION SURFACES (PAD OR DISC/DRUM)