What tyres to buy?

vr1066

Torque Junkie
Hi guys,

Looking for a little help on choosing tyres.

My m.o.t is just up and it's looking like I need to 2 new front tyres (not from burn-outs ;P).

The tyres I have at the moment are Toyo Proxies T1-R's. I'm fairly new to driving and don't have a great deal of knowledge on tires etc.

I'd usually do a bit research before buying anything but I got my dates wrong and my m.o.t. is up.

I'm happy to spend up to £100 per tire, maybe more, but I don't want to waste my money.

I'd be happy with the same tires again but I'm wondering if it's worth spending a little more, or less, on better tires.

Any suggestions?

You might find this thread of interest:- http://www.torquecars.com/chat/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=63.

A lot of it is down to personal taste and the Toyo Proxies are pretty good. My personal fave is the Eagle F1's but they do wear out quickly but give really nice handling characteristics to the car. What is on the rear - I like to keep the same all round and swap them over so they all wear out at the same time - plus you get a discount for 4 tyres rather than just buying 2.

Thanks for the quick reply.

I've currently got toyo proxies all round.

I think I may have a problem with wheels not being balanced? (Excuse me if that the wrong term). The tires are not worn evenly across, they have worn from the inside out (not much on the outside) and mainly on the left tire. I'm assuming this will be corrected once the new tires are fitted?

I was under the impression that you should change all your tires at the same time but the rear tires are in good condition so it would be a waste to change the now.

I'm just not sure what to do. Like I said, I'm happy with the toyo's but I'm tempted to go for Pirelli P7000's, but this is more because it's a brand I recognise.