Vectra 2.0 16v Modifications

makkatini

Hi all,

This is my first time here, so thanks in advance for any help.
I have a 98 Vectra 5 door with about 70,000 miles on it. It is due a new exhaust and shocks, so I got thinking, why not spend a few extra quid and do some mods. Can I get some help as to the best options for a budget of around £1000
I was thinking:

1. New free-flow exhaust, but not a complete system
2. Lowering the car, so new springs and shocks
3. Induction Kit (which brand?)
4. Superchip

Now I am not sure the Superchip is needed, as I have heard some negative things about it on non-turbo vehicles.
Where is the best place to get these things fitted? There are a lot of websites that offer the goods at a good price, but I need them fitted in the Berkshire/Surrey area

My eventual plan will be to take this to a few track days and have some fun!

Thanks

Jason

ps. I might be watching too much Pimp my Ride and Wrecks to Riches...

Shocks are a good idea. Adjustable ones are best and let you play with the best setting. An exhaust and induction kit are also a good bet but I would probably stick with a panel air filter replacement unless of course you want the induction noise.

I like that idea, a panel filter is cheaper and easier to fit.
What would you recommend in terms of brands for the shocks and exhaust?
I will probably go with a K&N filter

Unfortunatly mate, £1000 to spend wont see you passed 10bhp extra at the most if you want exhaust and suspension work.

I would suggest you do the same as what I did and spare no expense and go flat out for the best setup for your car. I was told by Courtenay Sport that Eibach springs and Bilstien shocks are the best setup you can have for a Vauxhall and wont cost you any more than £250 for the complete set. But i recommend that you ring Courtenay Sport as you wont find that exact setup on the site ;)

Have a search for my "Now it Really Feels Like Xmas" thread and that will tell you more about my setup