tuning bmw 325d 2009 by adding induction kit

chromebimmer

Car
bmw 325d 2009
Hello everyone

I have a 2009 bmw 325d which already gives me a headache by showing me the PFD warning light time to time, as I don't drive on motorways much.

I wanted to add an induction kit, so it could give it a better performance, as well as making a noise while I drive around.

I wanna know if it's a good idea to add an induction kit, or would it have a negative effect on my PFD. I read somewhere that adding an induction kit will take in warm air into the engine, so I was wondering if that would help the soots burn easier or not?!!! I am not a pro, so if this is a stupid question I'm sorry in advance :p

Regarding the noise and induction kit, I want an easily removable kit, so I can only install it when I go for car meetings, and to remove it afterwards.

I appreciate your comments and helps in advance.

Thanks

Hi and welcome.

Do you mean the DPF warning light? :)

First off, if you are looking for a performance gain from a simple induction kit then you will be disappointed.

It may feel faster, but this is due to the combination of noise and subconsciously pushing the load pedal just a little harder :)

A properly installed induction kit will draw air from outside of the engine bay. Only novicies fit systems that pull air from the engine bay. And no, hot air will not help clear the soot, but it will help to reduce engine power.

But if you are more interested in noise than power, then go ahead as this is a good place to start learning about car modifying as you can't do a lot of damage :)

PS. I recommend that you advise your insurance broker so as not to risk invalidating your cover, as this can work out very expensive in the event of a claim against you.

Hi and welcome.

Do you mean the DPF warning light? :)

First off, if you are looking for a performance gain from a simple induction kit then you will be disappointed.