new member 968 owner

mountainman

Wrench Pro
Car
1992 Porsche 968
Hi all, I am new to the forum and look forward to participating. I am a US air force veteran and retired 30 year police officer.

The wife and I retired 5 years ago and moved to the mountains of western North Carolina where we have built and rent vacation rental cabins just off the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Fantastic place to drive sportscars and motorcycles. We have a mercedes C320 wagon, a Porsche 968, triumph tr6 and tr7, and an all original 16K mile 1987 Jaguar XJSC cabriolet that consistantly scores above 99.990 in the Jag concours.

We also have a BMW 1150RT motorcycle. Life is good here in the mountains. I plan to leave everything pretty much stock except for maybe a few performance mods on the 968, which is my daily driver We enjoy car shows, rallys and pretty much everything to do with sportscars.

Anyone in our area give us a call and we can give you some goodinfo on the area and some good driving roads. Mountainman ( Bob Futrell ) 828 385 3100

Re: new member

Hello there and welcome, it sounds like you are really enjoy cars and life to the full out there. Have you had any hairy moments on the mountain roads?

Thanks for the welcomes. Someone asked about the 968. It is a fairly new acquisition and I am so impressed with the performance and handling for this type of mountain roads that I plan to always have one as long as there are any out there to be had. Even though the Jag is very rare and concourse quality, It is nowhere near the performer that the Porsche is.

After all, it was designed to be a tourer. It will probably go up for sale soon and be replaced with another Porsche ( maybe a 550 Spyder? ). Love those german engineers. Will post some pics when I am able.

Someone asked about hairy moments in the mountains. Occassionally there are. At certain times of the year we experience lots of fog and low cloud cover that makes for interesting driving, especially on a bike.