N42B20 Sports Cam

sacunha

From
portugal
Car
bmw e46
Hello, can someone help me with a question?
i have an e46 318ci with n42b20.
Im a newbie in engine modding and i wanted to get a bit more wp from my engine. I heard about add sports cams. I serched about sports camps for my engine and had no results. Do cams have to be made to a certain engine? If not can u help me choose ons for my engine?

thexav

Pro Tuner
Staff member
Car
2002 Clio 172
This guide is a good read...

The cam opens and closes the intake and exhaust valve and is measured in degrees of a full rotation. As long as the timing of spark and cylinder piston travel match you are spot on. The profile is chosen to match where you want the power band. Manufacturers set this up for economy and a good wide power band but on a track you want it all at the top end, and can live with a very lumpy low RPM engine.

sacunha

From
portugal
Car
bmw e46
ty for the reply.
My car has double-vanos and valvetronic, i heard that i cant change can when it has this tecnologies. Is it true?

obi_waynne

Administrator
Staff member
From
Deal, Kent UK
Car
A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
BMW did a pretty good job on the cam profile on these so I don't think you'll gain much.

Variable vale lift and Vanos don't rule out a performance cam - but you can't go very far with it and must ensure the lift remains the same - many cams are ground down and list suffers as a result.

obi_waynne

Administrator
Staff member
From
Deal, Kent UK
Car
A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
A supercharger might work out easier to fit but you'll need to lower the compression ratio, increase the fuelling and fit stronger engine parts to cope. It will give you the best bang for your buck but it will cost quite a lot of money to achieve this.

Have you looked into weight reduction? I know a few BMW owners have swapped heads and intakes over and made a bit more power after they've done a little head flowing and porting work on the donor head.

thexav

Pro Tuner
Staff member
Car