Mondeo air filter / induction

Lozza

Car
Mondeo 2.3ltr Zetec
Hi All,

I have a 2007 Mk4 2.3ltr Mondeo.

Am thinking of starting to put a few minor mods on it starting with an air filter / induction kit.

I have a few questions (im very new to this so go easy on me :))

1: I've read that an induction kit could cause the car to actually be slower at lower revs (mentioned for smaller engines but im not sure what is classed as a small engine). Would I experience this problem?

2: Is the ECU able to handle the change in air in take with no adjustments?

3: Would I notice any difference immediately?

4: On recommendations on brands to buy? How will I know whether it will fit my car? Anyone installed on already on their Mondeo?

Thanks

Lawrence

Howdo.

Here's my take on things:

1) They're probably talking about losing low down torque but you'll not notice stuff like that until you start changing camshafts or inlet tracts.

2) Yep - unless again, you start doing major changes.

3) Depends what you mean by difference - you'll not really notice any increase in speed or acceleration, but from purely my own experience the engine seems to breathe a little easier when at high revs, and gets a little better mpg..

4)Air filters - tbh, and again, IMO, a CLEAN oem quality paper filter will flow just as well as the K&N, Pipercross etc. It only starts to flow less when it gets dirty.
Induction kits - you might be able to get tailored ones, or you can go for something like a BMC CDA, probably the 85/150 for your 2.3, then site it whereever you can. The most crucial thing here is to get a good cold air feed to it. From the grille or bumper.

Howdo.

Here's my take on things:

1) They're probably talking about losing low down torque but you'll not notice stuff like that until you start changing camshafts or inlet tracts.

2) Yep - unless again, you start doing major changes.