Left foot braking

TCJBOLDIE

Staff member
Car
2011 Honda FN2
As some may know a year or so ago I sold my 400HP RWD 1985 JB Starion that I had been using as my weekend track car for many years on dirt autocross events till app 10 years ago when I changed over to tarmac only events and sold it just over a year ago and used the proceeds to help purchase a 2011 FN2 Honda Civic Type R that is a Front Wheel Drive.

FWD requires a slightly different driving style / cornering technique on track days called left foot braking where one uses the left foot on the brake pedal to control corner speed while keeping the gas pedal down this is to transfer more weight and grip to the front tyres to help the car rotate or turn in more towards the apex while at the same time the motor is pulling hard.

To that end I have been using my left foot on the brake in both my auto 4X4 as well as the manual FWD Civic to train my foot to be able to modulate the pedal pressures in a similar fashion to my finely tuned right foot.

When I try in the 4X4 the computer / EMS gets all confused and cuts power so I can only practice braking but can do both in the Honda.

WARNING LFB is an advanced motorsport technique and IS NOT taught or recommended by driving schools for normal road driving even in automatic cars. Use it at your own risk.

Last edited:
Am training my left foot at every opportunity and am getting better with modulating the brake pedal and intend to bring LFB into play on some of the slower corners at my next track day on November 5.

It will be the first test of my just installed FORZA FP3 front brake pads and will post my impressions soon after the 5th

I remember the first time I did left food braking, I nearly went through the windscreen! That left foot does need quite a bit of training.

In an emergency situation I think most drivers would be better off using their left food, strangely most seem to progressively apply the brake and only use about 80% of the stopping force.