Introductions & Questions

kiasta

Car
01 530i, 94 Celica
Hello everyone, I will be mostly posting about my 1994 Toyota Celica ST, my BMW I have no interest in modding. I'm actually contemplating whether to just go for the 5-speed GT instead, but hey I got the 94 celica with a good engine and tranny and the car actually runs, no knocking or squealing for only $500, so why not? All that it needs is a radiator and a fuel pump, a good tune-up and all the fluids to be changed.

Anyways, hello everyone I'm new to the modding scene and I will be making my celica into a project car now that I have the means so hopefully I can find some useful sources here :). I have no idea where to start, I know that the entire exterior needs to be replaced as does the interior, all the electrical works surprisingly but I have an ant problem so I just want to rip everything out and replace it all. The previous owner was obsessed with bondo apparently and I am not at all a fan.

Since I must post here I'll just dive into some questions, if anyone is familiar with the celicas, is the 2.2L GT engine bolt on or will I need to make some modifications? I know that I want to at least have the better engine as well as a manual tranny. Price is not much of a problem and I really am only doing this vehicle as a learning experience, no point in jumping into something expensive right off the bat.

Another thing is I have 0 mechanical experience, the only things I've ever done was change a battery, distributor cap and distributor rotor (on a 97 jeep wrangler) and that's really it. I have no idea what I'm doing but I'll learn as I go. My roommate used to work for toyota as a mechanic so if I need his help he's just a hollar away.