Induction kits/air filters

JammasterJ

I'm a complete novice when it comes to cars but I have a real interest and really want to understand them more, I read the main articles on the main site for induction kits, and i'm a little confused as to what the difference is between an induction kit and an air filter? are they the same thing just a different name? I read as long as it's a cold intake or something it will work better... I have a 2002 Corsa C could anyone recommend an induction kit or air filter for me? I want a better noise from my car and maybe some extra BHP if possible! ( :p )

sorry if this is in the wrong section of the forum as well!

thanks in advance!

Induction kits replace the air intake box completely and air filter go inside the intake box. Both act as filters for the air - the induction kit though gives a roar sound and more power on some cars.

oh I see, thankyou, i'll be needing an induction kit then! could you recommend one? don't really wanna spend loads... and someone told me if you have an induction kit you will fail your MOT, is this true?

not true if fitted properly. depending on the type of kit you're after, prices can vary though they are more expensive than replacing the original filter.

have you thought about increasing the air flow to the filter box? i was in your shoes at one point and induction wasn't right for the car.

what engine size do you have if you dont mind me asking? and you will hardly notice the power gain, and you only hear the induction roar at full open throttle. hope this helps.

aswearing is right - the MOT will usually be fine with an induction kit. The engine size is quite an important factor as is the exhaust you choose as this needs to balance the air flow through the engine.