I'm a newbie with this and I need help... Lots of it...

lcardoso17

Car
Mercedes E220 AMG-p
I currently got a VW Polo Mk5 1.2 petrol engine and I want some advice on what could I do with this vehicle. I though about an engine swap but it seemed too expensive. I was thinking of going, probably, with a budget of at least 750-1000 pounds.

Thanks in advance
;)

The best mods for a car engine are as follows but to be honest you wont see much of a power gain on a 1.2 engine no matter how much money you throw at it. I'd stick with improving the handling and braking and perhaps some weight reduction if it were mine.

Internal work yields the biggest gains, head work like porting polishing and 3 angle valve jobs will maximise the airflow and raise the power.

If you want to go to the max then cryo treat the block, get it rebored and look into blueprinting and balancing as well. You'll also need stronger internal parts if you are looking at a big power hike so forged rods etc.. are the order of the day.
Bigger valves are an obvious add on but not all engines are suitable as it depends how close together the OEM valves are.

A fast road cam will yield good power gains, especially in the top end of the rev range. Don't go mad though a profile of up to 270 degrees will give the best gains without the engine becoming cammy (lumpy tickover at low RPM).

The most popular power mods are induction kits (which are questionable as power mods but they can sound nice if that is your sort of thing) and sports exhausts with sports catalysts or decats.
To keep the car legal I'd recommend a sports catalyst rather than a decat.
The last mod should always be a remap as this will allow you to fully realise the power gains on offer from your mods.

It's worth having a read of the articles on www.torquecars.com/tuning/ for more information on these mods and what the terms mean.