Hi everyone

Jackinyrsax

Car
2.2 idtec civic
Well lads and lassies!

Im only new to driving let alone remapping or general modifications but I'm dying to get more up to speed and informed on how to go about starting on my civic. I've done a good bit of research and talked to a few mechanics about it so I understand most of the basics but need advice from people that have actually done it.

My first and only car is my 2012 2.2 idtec civic at stock 150hp. Its nippy enough but with a remap it'd be pretty exciting to get close to 200 without worrying about having excessive wear on the clutch. Is this a realistic assumption or am I going to be looking at a new clutch after a year or so with a stage 1 remap? Most companies are quoting a safe 190hp before they'd worry about excessive wear on parts. Is it more down to hard driving in lower gears that wears more? The cars sitting at 148000km's and driven pretty tamely in general so shouldn't be much wear atm.

As I said it's my only and first car so I'm wary of putting myself in a bad situation if I don't anticipate work that needs to be done with a remap in the near future.

Cheers for reading and any advice would be great!
Jack

Hello and a very warm, welcome to TorqueCars from me the admin, sorry for my slow reply.

Nice to have you along, I hope you're enjoying the site. Please start up a project thread and share your experiences with all our other members and I wish you all the best in your project.

Keep reading the articles on our site and this forum... you'll pick up loads of good common sense tips and don't be afraid to post questions, were all here to share our knowledge and experience.

We run a really fun and interesting car community and many have said we're the friendliest around, always ready to help out where we can.