Help need ideas for a MK5 Golf TDi 1.9!

dusty

Car
mk5 vw golf tdi
Hey guys, I have just bought myself a Mk5 Golf TDi 1.9 2007. I have never modified a car before and would like some ideas. I want to go for performance and sound mods, I really want to get the most out of this car. I have been reading and remapping the engine sounds like the first thing to do.. can you guys give me a list of things to look into to increase the overall speed/power/sound of this car baring in mind that it is a diesel! I'm really new to all this and would love some advice!!

yup remapping would be best to start with. speak to revo, custom code, jappasport, APR as these are the main VAG remappers.

none resonated exhausts will give it more of a rumble and stray away from the diesel sound, but you will still know its a diesel. inreality the exhaust as standrad flows pretty well. and the intake on the Mk4 the same, full CAI gives an improvment and better sounds.
sorry saying mk4 as its the same engine

Is it possible to fit twin turbo's to my golf? What about things like air induction kits, what else can i do to the diesel tdi golfs?

Yes but you will get more power sticking to a larger single turbo. Twin Turbos are only really useful when used sequentially to reduce lag. CAI = cold air induction so see Mr. Garners post.

yeah CAI - cold air induction. basically a induction kit that sits further away from the engine to suck in the cold air.

wouldnt bother with twin turbos th PD engines ran with Varible vane turbos. geting it rebuilt with ball bearings will allow it to give more boost.
alot of stuff thats avalible for petrol cars are harder to get for diesels like cams

Ok, so get it remapped, get a CAI kit on it, what else is available for me to take advantage of? ?