GOLF 1.8 GTI MK4 AGN Ideas and Help Needed

GTIGUY101

Car
GOLF MK4 1.8 GTI
Hi All,

I'm new to the world of Golfs and have just puchased my first.At last. It's a 1999 1.8 GTI 20v non-turbo with 73k on the clock. Engine code is AGN.

I've had to sort quite a few probs on the car already, luckily I done all the work myself so saved loads on labour:-

All filters and oil.
Bosch Super 4 Plugs
Bonnet Latch
Rocker Cover Gasket
Coolant Temp Sensor
Oil Switch
New HT Leads

I still have some other things to sort:-

Back door lock pops up then straight back down again, could this be dodgy solder?

Electric mirror switch dodgy, when on left only moves left, when on right moves both :~ might jus leave this though, any ideas?

Hard to get into first gear, have to push gear lever hard to left then it goes in, Could this jus be an adjustment? Any ideas how?

I'm looking to improve performance, economy and later looks.

I'm considering fitting an ecotek device and a cold air feed.

Which is a good cold air feed to go for?

What mods enigne/body work well with this car?

Any help and advice on the above would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

GTIGUY

Hey and welcome to the site mate nice to see another VAG owner join us

Hi All,

I still have some other things to sort:-

Back door lock pops up then straight back down again, could this be dodgy solder?

Unsure mate might be worth pulling the door card and checking the connections, or getting the convenience module scanned for errors

Electric mirror switch dodgy, when on left only moves left, when on right moves both :~ might jus leave this though, any ideas?

Nope this is normally, you set the right one 1st and it moves the left by roughly the same amount, then you can fine tune the left. this also allows you to move the left one down to see the kerb when reversing - some other VAG cars had this as standard as soon as you select reverse then the mirror dropped down