Economical Performance Upgrades for 2021 Kia Forte GT (Turbo)

flyingtrain

Car
2021 Kia Forte GT
Hi everyone,
I am from Washington state, USA. and I recently purchased a brand new 2021 Kia Forte GT. This is my second Turbo equipped car. My first was a 2015 Forte Koup SX.

I have forever dreamed of having a car with enough performance to scare me but have always been too cheap to do anything about it. These two Fortes are as close as I have come. I haven't even really made any meaningful modification to any of my cars (back in 1984 I put a (stock) Chevy SB 283 into my 67 Chev C10 replacing its inline 6 and added dual exhaust... nothing more, ever). So although I have been my own mechanic since I was in my early teens I am a complete noob when it comes to any form of performance upgrades.

Although my new forte has some zip I would like to improve on that, if possible, without placing my warranty at risk. I have looked at some of the ODB2 plugin performance modules (they claim to make performance upgrade mappings that are only available when they're plugged in) but I have a hard time believing they would actually do any good at all.

Does anybody have any 1st person experience with these things? Have any of you put any of them to the test (real test data showing any improvement of any sort or lack thereof)?

Do you all have any advice on cost-effective ways to upgrade the performance of my new car?

The car came from the factory with low-profile, 18" x 8", wheels and tires so I am not looking to replace them any time soon.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and I look forward to any wisdom you all see fit to provide to me.

Last edited:
There's an unfortunate reason that most of these questions go unanswered, and I'll help you out by going through them with you. The main key reason is because what you are asking isn't feasibly possible.