C3Mike

C3mike

Car
Citroen C3 1.6 D.
? My C3 1.6 HDi 92 diesel has over a period of 12mths started using more fuel Last physical check was 56mpg. [Was around 61+mpg] It's been serviced as per and I'm not carrying any extras. Mileage 42K
Tyre pressures are 32psi and reasonably new.
I've not noticed much drop in performance. Emissions are normal.
Not a rocket science device, but I seem to notice these days that the fuel gauge drops when starting a journey [I've not taken any notice before - might be paranoia] or, could it be something to do with cold starting? I've always used the car in the same way and for roughly similar journeys - if anything I drive with more care these days - economy in mind [would you believe]
If anyone out there has any suggestions I'd be grateful.
This is my first time on this site so only helpful suggestions, lol thanks.

The cold winter weather can cause a drop in MPG. Check the wheels all rotate freely, a worn bearing can sometime cause drops in MPG.

Has your driving style changed much? I do believe that most of the MPG drops we hear about are due to driving style rather than mechanical problems with the car.

Thanks Waynne for your reply, but I get the feeling that the car seems to surge very slightly while driving 'throttle steady' on level or uphill surface [more when cold] Not sure if this is imagined though. Am going on a 1000mile round trip this week [mostly motorways] so I might have a clearer impression after that. Recent calculations show 52mpg - around 10mile per gall less than when I first had the car. I've not tried the wheels for freeness yet, so can't comment on that - too late to try before the trip, but it was serviced not long ago without a fault report [not conclusive, I know] but the garage is usually on the ball. I will let you know on return Thanks again.
Mike

Last edited:
Loz, thanks for your comments. Glow plugs and fuel filter I understand, but what is EGR?