Beginner tuner

ryanenglish

Car
MG ZR 105
Hi, I am 17 and only starting out with cars. I have basic engine and car knowledge but i want to start a project to help me learn more. I am thinking of buying a MG ZR 105 and tuning that up as much as i can. I know a car that small (only 1.4) will never have massive Bhp and Torque figures this is purely to learn more about tuning cars. I was wondering if the Mg would be a good car to buy or if there is a much better option ? I also would like to know what kind of mods i could do engine wise. I know an engine swap would be the best option for more power but i want to stick with the 1.4 and just tune that.

Welcome to TorqueCars :bigsmile:

The 105 is not a bad choice for a first car, the 120 would be a better platform. However have a look through this website http://www.dvapower.co.uk/ Dave Andrews knows all you need on what to do for the k-series engine. It's pretty comprehensive so take your time reading through the information.

Hello and welcome to the nuthouse mate ;)

while your still at the looking stage, make sure you keep an eye on insurance. its bad enough at 17 on a standard car let alone a modified one.

just watch the usual with the k series engines and make sure the head gasket has been done

Howdo, you've chosen a good base car as despite the ill-informed the Zs are very good handling cars and its a little different than the standard Corsa that your mates will have. I'm guessing the insurance on a 120 would be mental at age 17. Plus noone rates Zs so they are cheap as chips to buy. Cos its a Z you wouldn't actually need to do much if anything to brakes and suspension, but a big brake kit behind some different alloys would look good and be good practice.

Stick a bmc cda on with a cold air feed from the front grille or foglight hole and it'll make the engine rev better and might give you a few more horses. Plus if its done right it looks good under the bonnet

Last edited: