'00 Galant GDI

ph4yl

Car
Mits Galant 2.4 GDI
Hey everybody,

I'm running a 2.4l '00 Mitsubishi Galant GLS GDI with the 4G64 engine, that holds great emotional value to me.
While having 150 bhp on a naturally aspirated engine is nice if you're in the right RPM range I'd like to have a bit more power on it. Only problem is I'm absolutely clueless when it comes to that sort of thing. I thought adding a turbo might be an easy way to add a bunch of power but after some reading into it that doesn't seem like a good idea.
So the queston is: what would be a good way to start? How much power can I approximately expect out of reasonable mods, it is a 20 year old car that's run a bit over 105,000 km or almost 65,000 miles. What kind of money can I expect to pay? I know pricing can vary greatly between the US (where I expect most of you guys to live from the threads I read so far) and Germany, but since I'm completely new to this sort of thing I'd at least like to know if a mod would be closer to 100 or 10,000 dollars/euro if that makes sense.
Would I be better of sourcing a V6 and going for an engine swap? I've spent quite some time trying to read into it but I just can't find much on a car that had it's prime way before posting about it on forums was really a thing, not to mention that most of post that were around at the time probably don't exist anymore.

At what point, if at all, would a FWD to AWD conversion make sense? I know that's not reasonable anytime soon, but what if in a year or two the car is at 250 bhp? Or 300? Would it make sense then? Can I expect to add a "modern" AWD system or would I be limited to a 20 year old system that can't manage the power nearly as efficiently?

Also while I absolutely love the car and it's features, it is the GLS, so the one with ALL the optional features, some things could probably do with being modernized a bit. But again, I have no clue as to what's possible and or reasonable to do.