Horrible rattle...any ideas?

C

Cloverleaf

Hello all. Sorry for such a long first post but I'm new to Honda's!

Today I aquired a 2.2 T reg prelude.

From what I've been told it hasn't been driven for about 1 and a half years. I went to pick it up - topped up the oil, jumped it off my other car and it started straight away. However, it had a really loud rattle - almost sounds like there's an additional lump on the camshaft hitting the cam cover as it spins (obviously there isn't but that's what I imagine it would sound like!).

I drove it 20 odd miles home and it drove OK (the engine didn't seem to catch as the revs dropped at junctions etc but I think this could be due to the battery being dead). VTEC all works etc. The noise got quieter when it warmed up but it's still there. It's only really present up to about 3k rpm - from then on the engine sounds sweet and smooth. Any ideas?? I'm going to look at it in the dylight tomorrow and begin the TLC and service! :confused:

Joe

Hello all. Sorry for such a long first post but I'm new to Honda's!

Today I aquired a 2.2 T reg prelude.

From what I've been told it hasn't been driven for about 1 and a half years. I went to pick it up - topped up the oil, jumped it off my other car and it started straight away. However, it had a really loud rattle - almost sounds like there's an additional lump on the camshaft hitting the cam cover as it spins (obviously there isn't but that's what I imagine it would sound like!).

I drove it 20 odd miles home and it drove OK (the engine didn't seem to catch as the revs dropped at junctions etc but I think this could be due to the battery being dead). VTEC all works etc. The noise got quieter when it warmed up but it's still there. It's only really present up to about 3k rpm - from then on the engine sounds sweet and smooth. Any ideas?? I'm going to look at it in the dylight tomorrow and begin the TLC and service! :confused:

Joe