Young newbie wanting to drift

E

Etan22

hi people.new to this site but no stranger to cars bikes ect.Have built numerouse show and winning vehicles(mainly bikes) but my son(14) is fascinated by drifting.Despite his age,he can drive well.He wants to learn how to drift,but I've never done it.Most cars I have built were built to handle not slide.I have purchased an 05 plate rx8 for him as a base car.goes well for what it is.
Got a few questions,
Is this ok as a drift car.I have read many articles on this ,and I am still none the wiser.
I have found engine tuning,turbo kits,suspension ect and body kits.Thats all very good but once again I can't get a straight answer on the diff.Do I weld it or do i??
Also as I have no experience in drifting,are there track days ,clubs ect where we can learn.
Thanx for your time.I have lots of questions for another day.One last question.Where would I get a copy of the Teck rules ie what I need the car to have to make it track worthy is fuel cut off ect.
Thanx

Greetings buddy and welcome to our TorqueCars forum :)

I am unable to offer you the advice that you seek, but there are some marvellous people on here who have been there done that and directed the movie! You should not have to wait too long for a definitive answer to your questions! ;)

The diff of choice is a KAAZ 1.5 or 2 way clutch type as the Torsen type becomes an open diff if the both wheels are not on the road.

Hi and welcome.

Nooooooooooo, pull him back from the dark side! :)

Santa Pod run Driift what ya brung days. This might be a good place to start.

Doing a drift course to learn the basics is on my wish/bucket list.:eek:
I'm a firm believer in that an old dog can learn new tricks.:D

May I as the site admin wish you a very warm welcome to TorqueCars. It is really nice to meet you and I hope you'll be spending time with us over the months to come.

You'll find us one of the friendliest and most helpful car tuning forums around.