Wiring

Jakeymd

The Torque Meister
Car
Ford Focus 2.0 TDCi
I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to this sort of stuff. I'm wiring an amp and a sub in the boot of my car. I need to get the power cable from the boot to the battery and i've got as far as the glovebox but can't find how to get through to the engine bay. I can't find any predrilled holes or grommets. Does anyone know where i can look or any other suggestions. There's not much room to drill a hole so that will be the last of my options if i need to. It's a 1999 Vauxhall Astra. Any help would be appreciated.

have a look in the engine bay to see where the main wiring loom goes through the bulkhead
I looked for this, but the all the wires are connected to a terminal within the bulkhead, then carry on out of the terminal on the otherside. So nowhere for it to go. It's a puzzle.

Look under the bonnet and you should find some wires going through the bulkhead.
If I was doing it I would of started feeding the wire from front to back.

Try the drivers side above the pedals, far right hand side, and between 300 and 400mm up measured from the floor, you should see some exit point grommets there. No drilling is required here if you are only pulling in an earth and battery feed. I would then try as turbonutter69 has already suggested to you, to run the cables from the engine bay first and then run the cables towards the rear of the car, some people find that a lot easier and minimises errors by pulling in cables that otherwise might end up short of the mark. Also, Subs are prone to induced hum, so use a good quality screened cable for the low level signal in, and try to keep the signal feed away from the battery feed by keeping as much distance as possible between them, I tend to run power down one side of the car and signal cables down the otherside, Good luck

Yeah remember to run the RCA cables the opposite side to the power cable.