Wheres your REV needle point the most?

obi_waynne

Administrator
Staff member
Car
A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
My revs needle hovers around 2000 - 3000 weekdays and 3000-4000 at weekends - what about you guyz n galz?

I usually keep at 3500revs as thats where my power band starts lol. Never know when you may need that instant power, wink wink. :D

I'm up there with BAD63R-V6 only my car doesn't have a power band its more of an elastic band :oops: !

Usually 1500-3000rpm. It doesn't really matter what its revving at for power. My torque peaks at 2000rpm and the bhp peaks at 4500rpm, so it pretty much goes like poo off a stick whatever the engines doing.

as a student, i live with my parents. and on the off chance i get to drive her triptronic audi allroad (great car) i put that thing in semi auto and drive like im on the track, shifting when the revs peak...good times. i cant believe they ever trust me with that thing

Mine stays around 2500-3500 if I'm feeling tight and watching the fuel.. When I'm letting loose then 5-6 grand.. :shock:

Welcome back Steveo! You must add a rev counter they are an essential :?

In my old VW mk2 gti I never had a rev counter, at one point I had no speedo, not that it really mattered cause I never paid much attention to any of the instrumentation.

On my new car I have a rev counter and most of the time its low but some times I can't help just opening it up to hear the engine roar.

Redline in mine 5200, high for a diesel but there's sod all point going that far given that torque maxes at about 2200 and power about 4200. It all pans out nicely as 2500 gives about 85 mph in fifth which means its right on the torque peak.

Previous car was a Japanese petrol (Primera 2.0) with the line at 7700. That was one revvy car but so spineless below about 5000rpm.

Don't get too hung up on diesels being slow - mine's anything but. A careful ECU re-map has released about 190bhp but with the kind of torque you get from an XK8.