Punto 1.4 8v Power Upgrades

RXD

Car
Punto
I have done a bit of research and I would like to know if you guys could provide some feedback on what I manage to gather so far. I have no experience on after market upgrades but I am a quick learner and keen to get my hands dirty!

Shell:
Fiat Punto GBT (62)
Weight: 1025 kg + Brio Pack + Me
Engine:
1.4 (1368 cc)
8v (4 Cylinders)
77 BHP - 115 Nm 85 lb-ft
0-60 mph: 12.8 secs Top Speed: 103 mph

That said, the upgrades...

Stage 0.5

Denso Iridium Spark Plugs Ref: XU22EPR
K&N Air Filter Ref: 33-2931

Question 1. Will this make any different at all what so ever?

Stage 1

40mm Throttle Body - No ref.
Exhaust Manifold (Either ceramic coated or wrapped) - no ref.
15" to 16" alloys (hopefully lighter and cooler breaks?)
30mm Suspension drop (any handling difference?) - no ref.
Remap - No idea where to get one in Scotland.

Question 2. Will the extra room (manifold and throttle body) increase performance or will it decrease it?

Regards,

R.

Well I am no expert on your model car buddy, but the stage 0.5??? :blink:
You may notice a slightly smoother idle/drive if the Denso plugs are gapped and set up correctly. Are you sure they are compatible with your model? Some plugs are extremely fussy as to where they go and some coils and associated hardware may not like the resistance of that model spark plug so double check.

Stage 1, Sometimes a suspension drop can enhance the cars handling slightly but do not expect to be throwing the car into corners at speed with a view of coming out the other side correctly. You may well have to factor in stiffer and lower springs as part of the 30mm drop which depending on the cars current geometry could upset the handling so be prepared for this.