Torque Cars

My carputer install

Discussion in 'ICE installs' started by pgarner, 13 November 2008.

  1. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    Ok talked about this a few months ago.
    since then ive been trailing some front end software and cutting down windows xp installs using nlite.
    Started buys up cheap bits off ebay as well. So far i have
    Mini itx case - think this was designed more for home servers than use as a proper computer case. also came with a 120w power supply
    Intel D945GCLF2, Little falls, motherboard. - 1.6 dual core with hyperthreading enabled ( and so far it seems to work better than P4s with HT ) for those who dont know what HT is its basically each core is slit to do 2 tasks as well, so Xp thinks its a quad core.
    1 GB 667Mhz Ram
    360GB Hard disc

    and a lilliput 619 screen - 7" wide screen with 4 wire touchscreen built in.

    still need to get a automotive power supply for the intelligent shutdown.

    also got another radio cage off the bay as well

    Plan is to remove the current radio cage and fit in the new one.
    new cage is going to have the screen bonded and fiberglassed into place to make it look OEM with the current head unit and pc itself in the boot.
    keeping the HU incase i have any major issues so its just a case of swapping from Aux to cd.

    Have installed a full version of XP pro SP2, all motherboard drivers, touchscreen drivers and roadrunner as a front end along with bluetooth and autoroute for gps.
    still testing in the house until i can get a spare housing for the screen (incase i mess the first one up :embarrest:) and have it running 42seconds from switch on to music from a cold boot and 21 seconds to resume from hibernate and resume from standby 4 seconds.

    going to try and install a nlited version of xp see if i can get this speeded up a bit.

    will get pics of the setup up soon
     
  2. thexav

    thexav Pro Tuner Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,044
    Car:
    2002 Clio 172
    Re: My carputer install

    Try BOOTVIS for faster boot times, it defrags your startup. Also a SSD instead of HD will boot up more quickly and take less power.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 28 November 2016
  3. obi_waynne

    obi_waynne Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    41,236
    From:
    Deal, Kent UK
    Car:
    A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
    Re: My carputer install

    Have you thought of a small inline UPS to give power when the car is switched off? Most have a USB lead which triggers a hibernate/suspend when the power cuts.

    I recommend easycleaner from Toni Arts for cleaning your XP installation and removing all the crud that gets installed over time.
     
    Last edited: 28 November 2016
  4. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    Re: My carputer install

    Bootvis claim 30 seconds from cold, 20 from hibernate and 5 from standby
    so im not that far off it anyway, it also says that it just optimises the start up does change it. Have looked at doing a minlogon and ewf install to see if that makes much of a difference
    SSD drives are pretty expensive at the min,looking at using a CF card along with a sata - CF adaptor 4Gb will do as my current install is only 2.5Gb and thats with all the extra crud that microsoft adds to XP (every language support along with keyboards, games outlook express, IE, Messenger etc. Installs can get as low as 600mb full versions is over 1100Mb) and autoroute which can be installed on the main HD.
    dont want to do a CF install without the EWF as it will kill the card pretty quickly with the constant writes that xp does.

    might look into the UPS and use standby all the time, can you get a 12v version ?.
    there want be much getting installed other than whats on it and some diagnostic software. rest will be music, vids and a maps
     
  5. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    Re: My carputer install

    heres some pics
    screen
    [​IMG]
    Motherboard
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    All together in the case
    [​IMG]
    up and working
    [​IMG]


    for the ups im thinking of building my own one :???: using a relay and a 12v 7Ah sealed battery,

    when the computers in standby it keeps a small draw on power to hold the ram in state this is supposed to only draw a few milliamps
    so the thoughts are :
    • power cable form the main battery to a relay
    • relay switched by ignition
    • when the engine is on it runs like a split charger, charging both batteries
    • when the ignition is switched off, the power supply sends a pulse to motherboard to power button, this initiates the standby rather than hibernate
    • at the same time the relay is switched off
    • the power for the standby is supplied by the smaller spare battery
    anybody any other pointers on if this will work, note the automotive power supply kills all power if the battery drops below a set voltage ( think of the top of my head its 10V )
     
  6. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    Re: My caruter install

    as a side note ive just thought about having a small solar panel to help supply some current to the spare battery while the realy is disconnected
     
  7. obi_waynne

    obi_waynne Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    41,236
    From:
    Deal, Kent UK
    Car:
    A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
    Re: My carputer install

    looking good there PG. A laptop battery and charger may well give you the UPS capability you need.

    Hibernate would be better than suspend and avoids the trickle of power drain. I'm sure you can set it to hibernate after 2 hours or something like that. Some motherboards will auto power up the computer at a set time so this might be a way of getting it ready for you when you drive to work at silly AM!
     
  8. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    Re: My carputer install

    im going to have a look after i get the MTX power supply and see what itll draw on the standby, intel say itll pull 0.25A on the vsb line. if its lower than this (hopefully it will be) then looking at putting in smallish car battery with the split charger.

    after so long on standby i wonder if i can get it to hibernate, lets say when i switch off the car the supply automatically puts in standby and after 3 hours it goes into hibernate

    that way i get 1 slow start up time and quick start up times when i come back to the car after lets say getting petrol or going the shops. so this shouldnt drain the main battery and not require a second one.
     
  9. obi_waynne

    obi_waynne Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    41,236
    From:
    Deal, Kent UK
    Car:
    A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
    Re: My carputer install

    Sounds like a plan. The MOBO power saving options should allow something along those lines.
     
    Last edited: 28 November 2016
  10. HDi fun

    HDi fun TC ModFather

    Messages:
    15,384
    From:
    Buckinghamshire UK
    Car:
    Passat 2.0 TDi
    Re: My carputer install

    Have a look here too

    http://www.litepc.com/xplite.html

    Here's another tip: After installing XP go to Control Panel > System > Advanced and find the swap/page file settings. Set it manually to about 3x the size of installed RAM and with min and max figures the same. This will prevent it ever becoming fragmented.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 28 November 2016
  11. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    Re: My carputer install

    xplite seems to be the same as nlite allows you to strip out what you dont need
    Cheers for the pagefile tip
     
  12. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    OK spent around an hour this afternoon starting to fabricate the screen into the radio cage.

    separated the screen removed the buttons etc, while in pieces i also cut off the 4 small clips that help hold it together, so now its just screws.

    used hot glue to hold in position then used fiberglass filler.
    so this is the 1st coating
    [​IMG]

    looking at sanding it down tomorrow, building up any areas that need it, then using some filler next week to do a final layer before sanding and painting. hopefully will have it fitted in january.

    Next job the wiring
     
  13. obi_waynne

    obi_waynne Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    41,236
    From:
    Deal, Kent UK
    Car:
    A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
    Its starting to come together now. Is this a spare radio assembly or are you driving around with a hole in your dash? (What does the wife think of this project?)
     
  14. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    no this is a spare one couldnt live without some music while driving. does mean i have lost the wooden trim as the lower moels had the black fixed permantly whereas the higher ones the wood / aluminum was removable


    wife amused by the touch screen more than anything else and as long as its not her car shes not bothered. although she did laugh when i said i was doing it as told her i wasnt going to touch the car other than a few performance bits waaaaaaaaaayyyyy back when i bought it
     
  15. obi_waynne

    obi_waynne Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    41,236
    From:
    Deal, Kent UK
    Car:
    A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
    I think we've all been there my friend.;) Modding is just too addictive.
     
  16. turbonutter69

    turbonutter69 TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    18,967
    From:
    Alone in the dark.
    Car:
    Insignia SRI.
    Thats really starting to take shape mate well done. I have been seriously thinking of doing this in my Primera, But I need to think of some where else to put the pc itself. Becasue I couldn't put it in the boot because all he bass would destroy it. I was thinking of trying to build a compact pc without a case and mounting it in the glovebox. Attached to a screen like yourself. Like I say though I am still only thinking about it.... But very tempted
     
  17. obi_waynne

    obi_waynne Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    41,236
    From:
    Deal, Kent UK
    Car:
    A3 1.4 TFSI 150 COD
    Is there a gap behind the center console?
     
  18. turbonutter69

    turbonutter69 TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    18,967
    From:
    Alone in the dark.
    Car:
    Insignia SRI.
    If I'm honest I'm not sure. Like I say its only a thought at the min. I've not done any measuring or checked anything out. It's all just in my head at the mo.
     
  19. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    its easy to put one behind the centre console however you need to normally use a nano board which is slightly more expensive.

    glovebox is a commonplace or under the seat, only reason im putting minein the boot is because i bought what more or less is a server case.

    also taking out the subs, and custom fitting one to where i wanted the pc to be fitted but turned out slightly too small after id made a mould for it.

    keep an eye on ebay for the screens they turn up now and again
     
  20. turbonutter69

    turbonutter69 TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    18,967
    From:
    Alone in the dark.
    Car:
    Insignia SRI.
    I've keeping an eye on Ebay for a while now. I might get a few measurements over the weekend. I could do with finding out whats behind the glovebox? If I was to put it in there then I'd need to cut out a section at the back for it to close properly. I couldn't get rid of me subs though. :D:D:D
     
  21. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    basic size for the mini boards is 171.25 square and you can fit powersupply and hard disc above below


    fitted the power supply tonight as havent had a chance to get body filler got it up and working start up and shut down working ok however think i killed the hard disc trying to knock out the old power supply 3 pin extension, sometimes works, but resets itself halfway through the hibernation, and most of the time it says that theres no bootable drive.

    bugger !
     
  22. turbonutter69

    turbonutter69 TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    18,967
    From:
    Alone in the dark.
    Car:
    Insignia SRI.
    Have you made all the wires up yourself?
     
  23. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    What wires ?
    the computer ones power 20pin power and sata ones are standard ones.
    the ones from the fusebox and ignition to boot done myself. relay wiring for second battery done myself. and ones done to the power supply wil be done by myself.
    extension lead for regulated power was done by my self along with crimping on the molex connector.
     
  24. turbonutter69

    turbonutter69 TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    18,967
    From:
    Alone in the dark.
    Car:
    Insignia SRI.
    Ok was ust wondering thats all with the pc itself being in the boot an the screen up front an what not........:D
     
  25. pgarner

    pgarner TC ModFather Moderator

    Messages:
    16,521
    From:
    Lockerbie, SW Scotland
    Car:
    Octy smoke machine
    well everything inside the pc apart from battery ignition and earth and the custom molex to screen conections are standard computer ones, everything outside it has been wired my myseflf
     
Loading...

Share This Page

Click Here
  1. This site, like pretty much every other site, uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies, this may include third party cookies from our carefully selected advertising partners and for our analytics which allow us to see which pages are of interest and improve our site navigation and experience.
    You can disable cookies in your browser but this may affect your experience on this website.

    Dismiss Notice