Hi there, real beginner here.

Best first car. By Brand

• Total voters

willww

Hey,
I am a true beginner when it comes to cars, but I learn quick! I'm about to get my first car soon and don't know what to get (Separate topic: http://www.torquecars.com/chat/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=2107 please help me on this :p), after a lot of reading and asking, I've come up with a few cars that might be good?
Vauxhall Corsa - B or C
Are the opinions I've heard about these true? Vauxhall cars are the most 'breakdownable' cars, BUT are cheap to fix as they are made in the UK. Your opinion please :).
Volkswagon Golf or Polo
I prefer the looks of the Golf better, but they're quite expensive to buy for a relitavely new one, and I'm on a bit of a budget :(.
Fiat Punto or Stilo or Bravo
I quite like these for some reason, althought I don't really like the Punto where the back goes inwards.

I'm from Liverpool and 17 years old atm. I don't know where to go if I was to start getting into modding, anybody recommend any cheap places?
I know i'm asking a lot lol. But I'm a beginner! This is the first forum I've asked these questions in, hope I've picked the right one ;).
Please give any advice if you can.
Thanks!
Will.

Hi Will, welcome to the site.

I started my driving career in a Peugeot 205, a 1 litre, but having learned to drive in a Vauxhall Corsa 1.7D (not turbo, either) it felt fairly nippy and handled like a demon.

I've driven the Corsa C (the 1.2 SXi) as a pool car at work, and it gave a good impression, and we've got a mark 1 Punto 1.2 Sporting which is nice too. Touch wood we've had no problems with it so far.

The problem you're going to be facing is insurance - they'll wallop you pretty hard until your 21, so what I would say is go for something cheap, cheerful and reliable until then, something you'll have fun in but won't cost you a lot and then move up to something tasty when your a bit older and hopefully have some no claims bonus built up.