Hello I'm a total addicyed newbie!!

Mattnconroy

Car
Volvo s40t5awd2005
From canada manitoulin. Island ojibway and loving my volvo s 50 t5 awd. The first upgrade I will be doing us the k&n intake system.

However,.....I'm left confused there rid a k&n air filter system and k&n induction kit for half the price both claiming to add 14.1 hp.

What is the difference ? Air filter system and imductom kit.

The second will be an exaust

Ferrita stainless downpipe with Ecocat for Volvo S40, V50, C30, C70.
This what I'm. Thinking of for the second edition .

The third edition not sure either inter cooler or an evolve ecuchip. Any suggestions on what they would do please leave a post!!!! Thanks

Greetings and a Warm Welcome to our TorqueCars Forum my Friend!

Good to have you along with us :)

It looks like you got a reply in your duplicate thread ;)

Hi and Welcome.

If you are expecting 14bhp you will be very disappointed. Independant tests on after market filters show little or no improvement and in some cases an actual decrease!

Manufacturers have spent millions of £/€/$ and years designing suitable intake systems. I know that they have to meet many conflicting criteria but they still do a pretty good job. Unless your are modifying your engine so it needs more air just put a new OEM filter in.

However, if you'd want the noise then go ahead (this is what I term an all fart but no sh*t mod)

Last edited:
Unless the standard filter is a restriction there is little if anything to be gained by fitting an induction kit. With lots of other mods it is a sensible option though.

Really nice to have another crazy car mod addicted member among us. You'll fit in just fine.

Have a good look round our site as we try to be unbiased in our comments and opinions on all types of modification and you should save yourself a small fortune by picking ht right mods for your car http://www.torquecars.com/tuning