Hello I am a newbie.

Mr2Gan

Car
MR2 MK2 Turbo
Hello, I am a newbie and I own a 91 Toyota MR2 SW20 turbo with a Gen 2 engine.
I am a DIYer so would like to learn or pick up as much tips to help me DIY my 2.
There is a lot of great info and learning especially on the do's and don'ts on upgrading/modifying from TC.
My future plan is to replace the side IC to a bigger top mount IC and modify the mid intake manifold to a side entrant. This will take me a pretty log time to complete. Also a MS2 DIY ECU. Hope to get all the support/advice from the seniors forum members. Thank you.

Hi and welcome.
I used to at times have to drive a MR2 NA car way back when working as a driver trainer and I love the shape<B BUT getting at the motor to work on it is difficult and be aware that they can be twitchy and want to fire you off into the scenery especially if you are driving fast and lift off mid corner as it will induce an oversteer "tank slapper" :eek: especially when pushed above say 8/10ths due to the mid engine design.

Would recommend some advanced driving instruction especially as it appears that you are intending to increase the power output|B

Please keep us informed of your progress:)

PS you will find more info here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_MR2

Last edited:
Hi TC,
Thanks mate for the welcome.