Torque Cars

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

    Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Experts only ||HELP||

Discussion in 'Technical forum' started by Yagel, 16 June 2017.

Tags:
  1. Yagel

    Yagel Full member

    Messages:
    18
    From:
    Israel
    Car:
    Leon cupra 280 2016
    We've made the logs & everything on the same DYNO..
     
  2. Lunchmoney

    Lunchmoney Track Warrior

    Messages:
    660
    From:
    Bournemouth
    Car:
    '98 JDM Impreza STI
    And the same dyno on the same day can make different results.
     
  3. TCJBOLDIE

    TCJBOLDIE Pro Tuner

    Messages:
    3,965
    From:
    Brisbane
    Car:
    JB Starion
    Seeing that you and a mate had your cars on the same dyno (on the same day ????) then I would ask the operator if he can print out the results for both cars on the same sheet.
    power,torque and boost data to see where they vary and post it so we can get a better idea of what's happening and where the differences are .

    IF they can't or won't do this then you can have your dyno sheet copied onto clear film so you can over lay it on your mates dyno sheet to compare results:)
     
    Last edited: 18 June 2017
    Yagel, Lunchmoney and obi_waynne like this.
  4. Yagel

    Yagel Full member

    Messages:
    18
    From:
    Israel
    Car:
    Leon cupra 280 2016
    It can't, me and my friend both Leon cupra owners stage 2, we've both been the same Hp& kgm and now he is the same as we was (340/52)
    And I'm (320/50) we've done the dyno one after each other Same humidity same temp same fuel same tuner .

    About the dyno graph, it's looks the exact same just I'm under his graph with hp&kgm
    Same drawing same boost holding rpm just less Hp and kgm
     
  5. Lunchmoney

    Lunchmoney Track Warrior

    Messages:
    660
    From:
    Bournemouth
    Car:
    '98 JDM Impreza STI
    It can. Which is why testers should run a car at least three times and will give you the average results. Because even three times in a row will produce different results!

    I give up, you aren't supplying any info we can work with and appear to be in denial about how things work.
     
    TCJBOLDIE, T9 man and Yagel like this.
  6. Yagel

    Yagel Full member

    Messages:
    18
    From:
    Israel
    Car:
    Leon cupra 280 2016
    D
    ude we've ran each car 3 times, I'll ask for the dyno and post it here
     
  7. claymore

    claymore The Torque Meister

    Messages:
    1,876
    From:
    Shrewsbury
    Car:
    T-10k,
    even tyre pressures can make a difference to dyno results.
     
    Lunchmoney and T9 man like this.
  8. TCJBOLDIE

    TCJBOLDIE Pro Tuner

    Messages:
    3,965
    From:
    Brisbane
    Car:
    JB Starion
    My driven tyres are pumped up to 40 psi when on the dyno.

    Different tyres and pressures as well as how it is strapped down on the rollers can affect the level of grip on the rollers and give different results.
    So are you absolutely sure that absolutely everything is equal on both cars ?????
     
    Last edited: 18 June 2017
  9. SLEEPER

    SLEEPER Pro Tuner

    Messages:
    2,733
    You have had many people tell you that a difference is perfectly normal indeed to be expected on different days on the same dyno
    Its worth adding that the more you tune a car the more likely a small difference in conditions will make .

    so to be exact ....
    your difference is under 6% and your car has been tuned
    Honestly you could get that difference on two back to back runs just by different driving style. sometimes turning the engine fan off could do it.

    I have had this demostrated by a dyno specialist who managed to get 40bhp difference on back to back runs simply by changing up to the final gear at difference revs on my car .

    As to losing to a car one day that you beat another day... well 20bhp out of 340 is unlikely to do that
     
    Last edited: 19 June 2017
  10. T9 man

    T9 man TC Pro Founder Moderator

    Messages:
    20,223
    From:
    London, UK
    Car:
    Saab 9-3SS T9
    Thank you @SLEEPER, I think that sums it up perfectly |B
     
  11. T9 man

    T9 man TC Pro Founder Moderator

    Messages:
    20,223
    From:
    London, UK
    Car:
    Saab 9-3SS T9
    [​IMG]

    20bhp is not a big deal! |B
     
    claymore, TCJBOLDIE and Lunchmoney like this.
  12. Yagel

    Yagel Full member

    Messages:
    18
    From:
    Israel
    Car:
    Leon cupra 280 2016
    I hope that this Saturday I'll have an answer for you guys, I'll update if the problem has solved
    And sorry but 20whp and 5 kgm on a seat Leon cupra is alot
     
  13. Rudders666

    Rudders666 Torque Master

    Messages:
    863
    From:
    West Yorkshire
    Car:
    Ford Focus ST300+
    Is it being tested on a hub dyno then?
     
    Yagel likes this.
  14. Yagel

    Yagel Full member

    Messages:
    18
    From:
    Israel
    Car:
    Leon cupra 280 2016
    Mustang dyno yes same place
     
  15. Rudders666

    Rudders666 Torque Master

    Messages:
    863
    From:
    West Yorkshire
    Car:
    Ford Focus ST300+
    So hub and not rolling road?
     
  16. TCJBOLDIE

    TCJBOLDIE Pro Tuner

    Messages:
    3,965
    From:
    Brisbane
    Car:
    JB Starion
    Mustangs are "rolling road "type Dyna Pak are hub type :)
     
  17. Rudders666

    Rudders666 Torque Master

    Messages:
    863
    From:
    West Yorkshire
    Car:
    Ford Focus ST300+
    So it's BHP as opposed to WHP then?
     
  18. TCJBOLDIE

    TCJBOLDIE Pro Tuner

    Messages:
    3,965
    From:
    Brisbane
    Car:
    JB Starion
    Rudders in a sense they both measure "wheel HP " despite the Dyna Pak needing the drive wheels removed to fit the hubs.
    With the DP dyno the possibility of tyre to roller slippage is eliminated due to the hubs being bolted to the wheel studs/lugnuts.

    The DP dyno takes a little longer than a roller dyno to have everything ready to start tuning/testing especially if the car is an AWD as all wheels have to be removed and 4 hubs fitted.

    Pics FYI :)
    https://www.google.com.au/search?q=...rP1M_UAhVEi5QKHTG6AW4QsAQINA&biw=1680&bih=928
     
  19. Rudders666

    Rudders666 Torque Master

    Messages:
    863
    From:
    West Yorkshire
    Car:
    Ford Focus ST300+
    Yeah I know what a hub dyno is dude as I had mine run on one a few months back. I'm just saying they eliminate tyre slip etc and they normally quote WHP from them as they're more accurate. Most rolling roads in my experience quote the BHP in comparison. I was just checking he was giving us the correct figures as they can be quite different in terms of what the car's producing etc.
     
  20. TCJBOLDIE

    TCJBOLDIE Pro Tuner

    Messages:
    3,965
    From:
    Brisbane
    Car:
    JB Starion
    I only put the links for the enlightenment of people who don;t have a clue about what we are discussing ;)
    In my experience most if not all chassis dynos quote HP at the tyres over here.
     
    Rudders666 likes this.
  21. SLEEPER

    SLEEPER Pro Tuner

    Messages:
    2,733
    20 out of 340 is 5.88 % and honeestly that isnt a lot . No way will that mean you beat someone easily as opposed to getting beaten.
     
    T9 man and Lunchmoney like this.
  22. Lunchmoney

    Lunchmoney Track Warrior

    Messages:
    660
    From:
    Bournemouth
    Car:
    '98 JDM Impreza STI
    Did this happen?
     
    T9 man likes this.
  23. Lunchmoney

    Lunchmoney Track Warrior

    Messages:
    660
    From:
    Bournemouth
    Car:
    '98 JDM Impreza STI
    I'm guessing it didn't.
     
    Rudders666 and T9 man like this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - Experts ||HELP||
  1. PugD
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,256

Share This Page

Click Here