Best Standalone Engine Management System?

SaturnSpeedster

Wrench Pro
Car
1997 Saturn SC2
Hey, I have a 1.9L I-4 DOHC engine with 135whp.
What is the best Standalone Engine Management System out there/which would you suggest?
N/A car switching to Turbocharger.
Thanks!

There isn't a best as such, maybe one of the high end motecs but that's big money. My advice is to choose who you want to map it and get whatever they prefer. You don't want to buy DTA for example then find out you have to travel 600 miles to get it mapped or adjusted every time you make a change.

A pants ecu mapped by an excellent mapper will be better than an excellent ecu mapped by a rubbish mapped.

I am no expert on ECUs, but for a car with your power I would have thought the cheapest you can get that is fully mappable would be fine. No point in paying for bells and whistles you will never use. The Emerald K6, for example, is a good, reasonably priced (but not the cheapest) unit at £595 and will do everything you want.

http://www.emeraldm3d.com/ecu/emerald-k6-ecu-generic-373.html

Dave Walker has been around since God was a boy and what he doesn't know isn't worth knowing.

This isn't a sales pitch as I am not using an Emerald. There are many other ECUs around that will do the job.

I would have thought a Dastek unichip would easily fulfill your needs, start off with the basic ecu, then add a boost module when you fit your Turbo, you also have the ability to control nitrous and launch control for example

Last edited:
Yes, I will be getting an electronic boost controller as well.
I also wanted to make a note, just to clarify, that 135whp is N/A with only a cold air intake and full header back exhaust.
I am going to get the stand alone once I purchase all the turbo parts, and upgrade pumps, injectors, filters, and internals.
For nitrous control, couldn't I use a separate controller from the company that I get the nitrous kit from?