Air Conditioning removal

HARDCOREBONES

Car
96 Silver Glanza V
Hi all . Ive a Glanza V sitting at home , at the moment its standard but im obsessed with making it lighter . So the back seats have come out , now i hear the air con weighs a bit ? Should i get it removed , is it possible or is it worth it ? Lighter = quicker

if your not using the air con then yes you can remove it however you will need a garage to de-gas it first. the pump and radiator will weigh a little bit and every little helps as tescos say

is it a turbo ? if not then you can look at fitting a supercharger in its place maybe adding the weight back in but youll gain some power from it

but hey and welcome

Hey cheers man . Its a turbo , and ill be honest im not a complete expert now on performance , but thats why i joined here and have spent time reading the great articles here .
So basically my plan for the Glanza turbo first is to make it lightweight , then progress once its lightweight .

if its already a turbo i wonder if you could work in a small supercharger out with the ecu to help with the lag.

if not ditch the lot and get a new drive belt made up.
have you found the weight saving threads ? theyve got some good ideas

I think i will get it removed some stage .
I never use it . Even in the summer . She'll be slightly quicker for it

yeah but it you reap more benifits from it being light weight, better bhp and torque/ton.
think about what is going to be more quicker, with gearing the same

600bhp car that is 2000kgs
or
350 bhp in a car that is 1000kgs

the 1 ton car as it has 350 bhp/ton compared to the 300/ton that the 2 ton car has

yeah but it you reap more benifits from it being light weight, better bhp and torque/ton.
think about what is going to be more quicker, with gearing the same

600bhp car that is 2000kgs
or
350 bhp in a car that is 1000kgs

the 1 ton car as it has 350 bhp/ton compared to the 300/ton that the 2 ton car has