advice on vw 1600cc engine mods

marlin

Car
mk1 jetta 1.6
Hi everyone I would like some advice on some engine mods I have in mind for my car its a vw mk1 jetta 1600cc 8v carb engine. Here are the mods I have in mind starting at the top 36dcd weber carb, gash flowed head with 278deg cam, at the bottom I plan a bore to fit 2000cc pistons with cap less rings balanced crank and lighten also. With that I would like a branch and free flow and a electric pump. I am not a expert in cars actually almost know nothing engine wise or making a car faster or stronger so any advise or criticism would be appreciated.

You'll get super compression with the 1600 heads if you go 2l pistons.
I remember back when I was a lad that my Dad was given as a payment. A VW with an 1800cc and 1600 heads + the webber. It was mad to drive. Dont know what happened to it in the end. He probably sold it for next to nothing.
They are fun and I love the old carby set ups.
I have a twin draught webber sitting around here. And 2 singles for linking. They were off a VW too. Off a 1500cc. I think they are solex's.

You'll get super compression with the 1600 heads if you go 2l pistons.
I remember back when I was a lad that my Dad was given as a payment. A VW with an 1800cc and 1600 heads + the webber. It was mad to drive. Dont know what happened to it in the end. He probably sold it for next to nothing.
They are fun and I love the old carby set ups.
I have a twin draught webber sitting around here. And 2 singles for linking. They were off a VW too. Off a 1500cc. I think they are solex's.

You might not be willing to sell me that setup if you want to ?

Hmmm, Where in South affrica are you.
I could look into it.
Were you thinking of the double barrel weber? Will check but think it was primary and secondary system which give you the option to run a bit more economic untill you tromp it:)
Or the twin single Solex system? ( or both)
I'll take a look in the shed and get the throat sizes if you are interested.