206 and 70mph

aswearing

Torque Master
Car
Micra 160sr
i found that when driving a 206 it started shaking at 70mph

anyone else had that?

also i didnt like like the gearbox, was too noisy when changing and handling was odd.

Its the balancing/Tracking of the wheels. Best bet is to pop into somewhere with a tracking machine and get the wheels tracked and balanced, or get new tyres.

car was sound, only just had mot and service, wheels were balanced afterward (due to wheels being removed)

and when you brake the passenger seat moves forward. :shock:

Ask them to check the wheel balance for you - if they have already done this it should be free. If the wheel has no central hole in the hub it can be really hard to balance them and even the pros get it wrong sometimes.

Hey aswearing check the gear box out mate and there the bars from the wheels connect into it (apologies i'm not very technical, lol) but i'm sure you know what i mean. Also check the front suspension. It's just that mine used to do the same nad these things i've had done recently and it's corrected it.

Hmm, well usually this would be a wheel balancing issue, but maybe you need new tyres!
Have you checked the wear lines on your tyres recently or checked for crazing and cracking?
I Have the same problem with my car at the moment as well which is a 106, as soon as you hit 70 the car starts shaking! But I'm almost certain it's the tyres.

As for your front seat, I know a lot of people who had the same problem, including myself! and I recently spent 3 hours trying to fix it myself!

turned out, maybe due to excessive shaking over the years or just a bodged repair job, 1) A Bolt was missing that bolted the sliding plate to the chair 2) another one was just loose and 3) there was a little gadget that slides along with the chair on it's runners that stops it from moving that had come loose, VERY hard to get back on! haha